Dec 4, 2017 | Ries Driving School News
How does the Behind-the-Wheel program work?
Students get their Temps first; they can get Temps and start driving before their Classroom program is finished. Ries Driving School has arranged Classroom instruction to help students qualify for Temps about halfway through the program.
Students with Temps call the Ries office, or someone calls for them, to arrange Behind-the-Wheel lessons. Students may take a maximum of two lessons in an instruction car in any week. Ries office staff begin booking lessons for the NEXT week at the beginning of THIS week; calling early in the week offers students the best selection of lesson times.
Typically, lessons last two hours. A student will drive for one hour, with other students observing, and then observe someone else driving for the other hour. Ries Driving School prides itself on service to its students. They can be picked up at any of several Fond du Lac locations (home, school, work or Ries) and dropped off at Fond du Lac location afterwards. Students in outlying areas have designated pick-up and drop-off points.
Except for taking one lesson during the first 60 days of their Temps, students can schedule Behind-the-Wheel lessons to suit their needs. Many students spread their lessons out, so they have plenty of time to practice their skills in their family vehicles and they have their last lesson near the time of their Road Test. For a fee, Ries offers a Road Test Lesson: on the day of the test, a Ries instructor picks a student up in a Ries car one-half hour before the Road Test appointment; the student has the opportunity to calm down and warm up driving to the Department of Motor Vehicles for the test. The instructor waits while the student completes the Road Test in the Ries car, then accompanies the student to drop-off once the testing and licensing process is complete.
Dec 4, 2017 | Ries Driving School News
What are the requirements for Driver Education in Wisconsin?
Young people under the age of 18 must complete 30 hours of Classroom instruction, 12 hours of Behind-the-Wheel training, and all Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) requirements.
For details, see Wisconsin handbook or New Drivers Manual by WPDSA – http://wpdsa.org/; a Wisconsin handbook is available online at: http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/license-drvs/how-to-apply/handbook.aspx
What are the age requirements for Driver Education and licensing?
Students may begin Classroom at the age of 14 years 5 months. They may get an Instruction Permit (Temps) at 15 years 6 months. They are eligible for a Probationary License at the age of 16; but, according to the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) law, they must have driven a full six months on Temps to get it.
What are the other requirements of the Wisconsin law?
- The state requires that students make up all Classroom misses.
- On the Temps application, students must verify that they have been free of any moving traffic violation for six months prior to applying. The school that will teach a student Behind-the-Wheel must sign the application (School Signature); the student must do Temps testing within 60 days of getting this signature. A parent or guardian needs to sponsor each student under 18 years of age for Temps and for the Probationary License; as part of sponsorship, parents must verify that students meet school attendance requirements. Students who receive Temps must take at least one Behind-the-Wheel lesson within the first 60 days.
- At license application time, parents must verify that students have accumulated at least 30 hours of behind-the-wheel experience, of which 10 hours must be night driving. For the first nine months of driving on the Probationary License, there are several restrictions regarding time of day and who may be in the car; if there is a moving violation or a violation of restrictions during those nine months, the restrictions are extended.
- The requirements regarding temps and the probationary license are explained in the Wisconsin handbook. A Wisconsin handbook is available online at: http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/license-drvs/how-to-apply/handbook.aspx
Join Us on Social Media